White County 4-H members assisted with the Searcy Regional Chamber of Commerce annual Awards Banquet held Oct. 29 at the new White County Cooperative Extension Service Office.

More than 300 guests and chamber members attended the event.

"It was a great opportunity for 4-H members to interact with business leaders of White County and see how important the life skill of leadership really is in today's world," 4-H program assistant Nancy Evans said.

Extension agent Brian Haller, the staff chairman, and Nancy Evans were present with 4-H'ers Jalyn Smith, Caitlin Cooper, Daniel Stevens, Katie Boone, Emma Ferren, Annabelle Ferren, Shyanna Slade, Lincoln Isaacson and Paxton Bradford.

"The youth worked very hard and did an excellent job," Evans said. "The White County 4-H program focuses on community service and leadership. This is just one of the many ways 4-H gives back to the White County community."

Gov. Hutchinson announces appointment

Arkansas Gov. Asa Hutchinson recently appointed Tom Allen of Beebe to the Arkansas Home Inspector Registration board. The appointment expires Jan. 26, 2021. This was a reappointment.

ASU-Beebe eligible to compete for $1 million prize

The Aspen Institute College Excellence Program recently named ASU-Beebe as one of 150 community colleges eligible to compete for the $1 million Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence, a national recognition of high achievement and performance among America's community colleges.

Based on strong and improving student outcomes -- including in learning, completion rates, employment rates, earnings and equity -- 15 percent of community colleges nationwide have been invited to apply for the Aspen Prize.

"The Aspen Prize is a tremendous goal for all community colleges because if focuses on student success," said Dr. Jennifer Methvin, chancellor of ASU-Beebe. "We are proud to compete with such an amazing group of colleges and demonstrate how the caliber of education our students receive at ASU-Beebe truly 'transforms their lives.'"

ASU-Beebe has been named in the high-performing institutions previously, eligible to complete in four of the five award cycles offered since the inaugural Aspen Prize award in 2011.

The top 10 finalists for the 2021 Aspen Prize will be named in May 2020. The Aspen Institute will then conduct site visits to each of the finalists and collect additional quantitative data, including employment and earnings data. A distinguished jury will make award decisions in spring 2021.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.